On the way to Singapore


I have spent the past three days in Karachi meeting different journalist friends. Right now I am on my way to Singapore to attend an India-Pakistan peace seminar where I will speak on “Baloch alienation and ramifications. ”

I will be boarding Tahi Air Flight No 508 to Bangkok from where I will be required to catch the next flight to Singapore. There is going to be a stay for six hours which I will spend at Royal Orchid Holidays.
Some of the key speaker from Pakistan during the session are Mohinuddin Haider, former governor Sindh, Mushahid Hussain Syed,former federal minister for information and broadcasting, Shireen M. Mazari, editor The Nation, Rahimullah Yousafzai, Executive Editor The News International, Kamal Siddiqui (Express 24/7), Dr. Aysha Siddiqa, popular defense and political analyst, Rustum Shah, a former ambassador and some others.

I just met Kamal Siddiqui at the airport lounge. My first meeting with Kamal took place in 2005 when I met him at the Asian College of Journalism (ACJ), Chennai, India, where I was a student and Kamal had come as a visitor under an East-West fellowship. Later on, Kamal became the Reporting Editor of The News. We often stay in touch. Now, he tells me he has joined Express Tribune, an upcoming English newspaper from the Express Group.

My flight will take off at 1:00 in the morning. I am looking forward to seeing a lot of prominent Pakistani and Indian intellectuals come on one platform to speak for two days. It is surely going to be a very enriching experience for a junior journalist like me.
More to follow

Comments
2 Responses to “On the way to Singapore”
  1. Aftab Baloch says:

    HEYYY SIR,

    hope u are spending memorable days in singapore but let us know the feelings of pak-india journalists on the baloch movement…

    • gmcmissing says:

      I had a good experience in Singapore. While the Indians seem to have greater support for the Baloch cause, many writers adn journalists from Pakistan have a lot of disliking for the Baloch movement. They will leave no stone unturned to mislead the public opinion about Balochistan if there is no one from Balochistan to counter them.

Leave a Reply

