HHH Fellowship: Application



The total process of applying for Hubert Humphrey Fellowship, appearing for an interview, getting selected and being notified about one’s success took several months. I had applied for the Humphrey Fellowship on September 24, 2009 after receiving a forwarded mail from my Islamabad-based journalist friend Saeed Shah, who works with The Guardian. He wrote:

” Fellowships in the US specifically for Pakistani journalists have suddenly come up. They have opened up the Humphrey program for reporters. The deadline is this week – now 2pm Friday.

Please forward to people you think would be interested. Details below.

Best, Saeed”

Interestingly, I opened my mail box soon after arriving at Quetta, where I live and work, from my hometown, Panjgur. And I learned that the last day for the submission of documents was two days ahead. The difficult part of it was that I, like all applicants, was required to submit the hard copies of many documents by hand at the US Education Foundation in Pakistan (USEFP) office in Islamabad. I had too little time.

Leave a Reply

