“Surprised to See You Alive”


I met  this very senior journalist from the Wall Street Journal. He has authored around four books. We met a few days back. He didn’t seem to have a deep admiration for Pakistanis because of his previous unpleasant interactions with some journalists from my country. But he soon realized that I was among the ‘bad guys’ from my country who opposed conspiracy theorists and believed in  liberalism. Thus, he opened up and thought he could talk to me. He also asked to share some of my write-ups with him.

After several days, I met him yesterday at the First Amendment Forum in the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism for the Wednesday Night Movies. The movie for the night was All The President’s Men.

” I looked at your writings,” he said, ” You are a very brave writer. I am just surprised how come you are still alive in a country like Pakistan!’

He struck me with his comment. I have still remained unable to either take it as a critique or a compliment.

Leave a Reply

