JMC-315


I barely had two hours to sleep last night. There is nothing that has spoiled me more than Facebook. This social network  has totally ruined people of all generations. I was busy doing nothing until 4:00 a.m. After all, you can’t call Facebook(ing) a job.

I had to wake up at 6:55 a.m to rush to my radio class, JMC-315, which takes place on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 7:30 a.m. The class is taught by Mark Brodie, who also works with National Public Radio. He is really really good at editing and his job.

In America, teacher-student relations are very different from what we have in Pakistan. Classes take place in a very friendly atmosphere. Teachers are very easily accessible for further advice and suggestions.Many teachers add/accept their students on their Facebook and Twitter pages.

It is not as if students in the US do not make mistakes. I feel teachers here try to firstly admire the better part of the work done by the student to encourage him to improve the remaining part of the work.

I have never heard Mark or any other teacher here saying that a student is “wrong”. They’d say, “okay, what you have done is really good but you could still improve it by….” Then there come the suggestions.

Many of my friends think radio is dead. I disagree: Neither radio nor newspapers are dead. Every medium has its importance and it learns how to attract its audience with the passage of time. I have submitted two radio reports so far. I am excited about learning to use the Final Cut Pro software for radio editing.

I am enjoying my work and celebrating the news skills that I am gradually learning.

 

Leave a Reply

