A Session at Maricopa County


We visited the office of Maricopa County today on an invitation to speak about our countries.  We, five Humphrey Fellows, had a wonderful time meeting the officials of the county. We met Richard de Uriarte, Communications Manager, Ed Guerrero, Diversity Director and Gary B. Huish, ICJIS Project Coordinator and some other officials at the Maricopa County office.

It was primarily an informal meeting with the staff members of the County office to share views about our countries, cultures and media systems and respond to their questions. While we shared our likes and dislikes about the US, some of our hosts were in fact perturbed to hear about our displeasure over the annoying services of some telecommunication companies here.They asked what had impressed us the most about the U.S. On my part, I said I had been struck by American people’s courage to change places and switch jobs.

“In my country where I come from a little town called Panjgur,” I said, ” you are oftentimes, born in Panjgur, you are brought up in Panjgur, you do a job in Panjgur and most probably you will die in Panjgur.”  I have met a lot of Americans who were born in one city, they start their  education elsewhere, find a job in another city and it keeps going.  I have also met a lot of people who keep changing their professions.

“Maybe we keep losing our jobs too fast,” interjected one of our hosts naughtily.

I replied, “Then, it is a good reason to lose a job! We all should lose our jobs for a change.”

I said for every little unpleasant experience, I had had one hundred positive experiences during my stay in the U.S. We spoke about ethnicity, diversity, languages, family system and marriages in our societies.  Our hosts were fabulous. They offered us to visit them again. I hope we will see them once more in the future and have a similar stupendous exchange of views.

Comments
2 Responses to “A Session at Maricopa County”
  1. Kayle Jean Grayson says:

    I was very impressed with learning about your views of the US and yes depending on a persons situation we do move around the here in the US. When I was a child my dad was in the Navy so we did move a lot it was hard to make friends. I as I grew up continue my last count was 23 states over 30 plus cities and couldn’t even tell you how many different schools. But what really got me was how your families stayed in the same communities and tribes (hope that isn’t offensive) help keep the language and family traditions going from one to another.

    Thank you for sharing a part of your life and your country with us and I do hope we can meet again and talk.

    • Malik says:

      Dear Kayle,
      Greetings,
      Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing your views on my blog post. Yes, we all learn from each other. That is what diversity is all about. No, we don’t feel offended over our joint family system. It has a lot of merits as well though I want things to gradually open up so that we don’t remain ghettoized.
      I enjoyed my interaction with you all. I am sure we will meet again and share ideas as it seems to be the collective wish from the side of the Humphrey Fellows as well as your office. Let’s plan something for the future.
      I thank you again for your kind comment.

Leave a Reply

