Interview With Duniya News


The Washington DC Correspondent of the Pakistani private news channel Duniya News, Owais Saleem, interviewed me last week about my asylum case in the United States. Earlier in the day, Mr. Saleem had raised the question at the State Department press briefing if my asylum was meant on the part of the US government to officially endorse the Baloch separatist movement.

I made it abundantly clear that I was not a part of any political party or a movement. I am only a journalist by profession and my decision was not directed against Pakistan or inspired by the Baloch nationalist movement. However, remarks by the representative of Reporters Without Borders further validate my stance who confirmed that at least eight reporters had been killed in Pakistan this year, making it the world’s most dangerous place for journalists for the second consecutive year.

Leave a Reply

